Fifth Anniversary of Brother Joseph’s heart attacks

God’s Providential Care by Brother Joseph

(First submitted – Holy Family Mission Conference Sept 18, 2004)
I suffered four Massive Heart Attacks on September 8, 2004 and 5 doctors concurred that it was doubtful that I would live.

Now lets go back just about a  week and piece all the events together.  Unknown to me I was a time bomb of Cardiac failure.

To show you how much the Lord was protecting me. Luz Elena Bob and Penny were supposed to be in Europe on Pilgrimage during this  time. I had been to Little Rock a few days earlier to pick up the Newspapers by myself.  I had taken Bubba to the vet about then to look at his feet since he had walked on the gravel so much on Sunday as we were spreading gravel on the road.
On Tuesday, Sept 7 I felt some what I thought was discomfort like indigestion and Luz gave me some tumbs and the pain went away.

Next morning the indigestion returned and I blamed it on Salmon and took more tums.  Then I decided to take some St. Michael’s water from the Grotto of St. Michael in Mexico.  If by the time I got to my office I did not feel better, I decided to tell Luz Elena to take me to the Hospital Emergency Room.  Immediately the pain was bad and I went into Luz Elena’s office and said, “Take me to the emergency room now.”  By the time we were on the freeway, I knew I was in trouble and gave her my cell phone and told her to go as fast as possible and dial 911 and have them meet us at the Emergency Entrance and I told her I did not think I was going to make it.
I arrived at the Emergency Room area with no pulse.  There were no men around to help get me into the Emergency Room Center.  Luz and three other women put me in a wheelchair and got me inside.
Dr. Goodman of St. Anthony’s Hospital here used the special heart shot and started using the paddles on me. I revived, looked at him and said, ” I have died and gone to Heaven.”
It was decided because of the serious nature of my condition, that I would be taken by Helicopter to Baptist Medical Center in Little Rock.  They asked me if Baptist was okay, and I said, “Let us go to Baptist, they need to see a Good Catholic.”
On the way down to there I suffered another arrest, and two more after arriving Baptist Medical Center.  Dr, Henry the cardiologist there came out that day and told the family, “He is very, very sick.”
Later that day he reported, “All I can say is that he is alive.”  Finally later that day he come out and said, “He is in the hands of Jesus.” and Penny added and also  in the Hands of Mary since today is her birthday. Dr. Henry then asked, ” Is today Mary’s birthday?  This dumb Baptist did not know that.  We are just now getting used to Ash Wednesday.”
His final comment was that my chances for survival was 30% and that was being generous. (One year later he told me I had a 0% chance to live.)
At 3::00 pm a priest was sent to give me the annointing of the sick.
Penny asked the Nurse should mom stay through night and she said that being more than an hour away was not good.  Then the Lung doctor came in and told the family, “His lungs are filled with water and heart was functioning only 10%.  Imagine that he was in the worst car accident.”
Carolyn the nurse told the family, “He is very, very sick.”
Carolyn came by later on her day off and told me She had decided to become a Catholic.
On Thursday September 9, which happened to be Mr. Bob’s birthday, suddenly my heart began to get better and I went from the CCU  unit to a room.and my heart continued to gain strength and  Dr. Henry and Dr. Baaur declared it, “The Hand of God or a Miracle.”
They ran a test on my heart to determine the damage and expected a number over 300 which would be bad and my number was 28.
On Sunday Sep 12   Dr. Henry, told me that they intended to run an Echo Cardiogram on Monday to see how it was progressing.
At 8:00 am monday September 12 they rolled in the Echo machine and it revealed a normal heart.
Dr. Henry told me then I had a Miracle.
He told me it  would take 10 days for my blood to be ready for bypass operation and he then said but in your case 5 days maybe.
They ran the first test within the hour and my blood was ready.
They told me the schedule was full for the week but they would look again.
Suddenly there were two openings, Sept 14  or Sept 15 the Feasts of the Triumph of the Cross and Sorrowful Mother.
I remembered back in 1985 Pope John Paul wrote Mater Redemptoris and in that enclical  he suggested to the faithful the writings of St. Louis Marie de Montfort.  I read about this 33 day consecration and Mom Annie dad and I went through the process and even sent paperwork to the Montfort fathers noting we had done so.
The Feast day for our consecrations was set to The Triumph of the Cross Sept 14.
And  God chose Sept 14 the Triumph of the Cross.
We were told the operation would take 1.5 hours per bypass or about 4.5 hours.
It took about 1.5 hours.
We were told I would be in CCU after operation for 24-48 hours however I was back in my room the next day. What can I say, Our God is a Glorious God and he can do  the impossible.
Now go out and spread the good news that God is very much alive in the world and wants to bring about the spiritual renewal of this country, because he hears your prayers and I am back to prove it.
Now the Lord has fused the diamond and made it much much much harder.
Now more than ever we will producing those videos DVDs and books to help you to learn more and more about our magnificent Catholic Faith
Praise God Praise God Praise God
How do I feel
I see rainbows in the sky
I see birds in the air
Little blue butterflies and flowers in the fields
I did die and go to Heaven and came back
This is Heaven here and I feel like I am in Heaven here
Below is from Bob and Penny Lord’s book, “Visionaries, Mystics and Stigmatists”
Excerpt from the Chapter on St. Louis De Montfort
We told you at the beginning of this chapter that Louis Marie de Montfort was a prophet of the Last Days.  The reason we call St. Louis Marie de Montfort a prophet of the last days, even though he lived between the last half of the Seventeenth Century and the first part of the Eighteenth century is because of what we read in his prophecies which deal with these last days:
“….towards the end of the world, ….Almighty God and His holy Mother are to raise up saints who will surpass in holiness most other saints as much as the cedars of Lebanon tower above little shrubs.”17
“These great souls filled with grace and zeal will be chosen to oppose the enemies of God who are raging on all sides.  They will be exceptionally devoted to the Blessed Virgin.  Illumined by her light, strengthened by her spirit, supported by her arms, sheltered under her protection, they will fight with one hand and build with the other.  With one hand they will give battle, overthrowing and crushing heretics and their heresies, schismatics and their schisms, idolaters and their idolatries, sinners and their wickedness.  With the other hand they will build the temple of the true Solomon and the mystical city of God, namely, the Blessed Virgin… “18
“They will be like thunderclouds flying through the air at the slightest breath of the Holy Spirit.  Attached to nothing, surprised at nothing, they will shower down the rain of God’s word and of eternal life.  They will thunder against sin; they will storm against the world; they will strike down the devil and his followers and for life and for death, they will pierce through and through with the two-edged sword of God’s word all those against whom they are sent by Almighty God.”19
“They will be true apostles of the latter times to whom the Lord of Hosts will give eloquence and strength to work wonders and carry off glorious spoils from His enemies.  They will sleep without gold or silver and, more important still, without concern in the midst of other priests, ecclesiastics and clerics.  Yet they will have the silver wings of the dove enabling them to go wherever the Holy Spirit calls them, filled as they are, with the resolve to seek the glory of God and the salvation of souls.  Wherever they preach, they will leave behind them nothing but the gold of love, which is the fulfillment of the whole law.”20
“They will have the two-edged sword of the Word of God in their mouths and the bloodstained standard of the Cross on their shoulders.  They will carry the Crucifix in their right hand and the rosary in their left, and the holy names of Jesus and Mary on their heart.21
“Mary scarcely appeared in the first coming of Christ…  But in the second coming of Jesus Christ, Mary must be known and openly revealed by the Holy Spirit so that Jesus may be known, loved and served through her.”22
Thank you Jesus and Mary for St. Louis Marie de Montfort.

PS: Sept 8, 2009 – I will never forget that day and that week. I owe the Blessed Mother and Jesus my all and each year on this day I go to the Holy House here at Holy Family Mission and give them my all. I continue to ponder why they sent me back but looking at the headlines each day I can see that these are not normal times and I have committed to getting the word out that Jesus is alive and His Mother is our Mother. We must turn to them for everything.
Brother Joseph

One Response to Fifth Anniversary of Brother Joseph’s heart attacks

  1. lyn neandross says:

    Brother Joseph, A true miracle of God and His love! Everyday I see more and more the need for holiness and a closeness to both Jesus and His Holy Mother. My husband and I are now experiencing no money and have had to ask our sons for help–very humbling–these 2 men do not attend church and one will only help if 0 money goes to the Catholic church–I know my Father has a plan here, but waiting takes patience–it’s very hard! Bob and Penny, I remember driving you to New York many years ago to look at stained glass windows–I was suffering from incompasitating sciatica at the time and some said “you won’t be able to do this”, but I knew if God asks, He takes care. In closing, please pray for us as I pray for you. In Jesus and Mary, Lyn

Leave a Reply

